Minos Garofalakis is the Director of the Information Management Systems Institute (IMSI) at the "Athena" Research and Innovation Centre in Athens, Greece, and a Professor of Computer Science at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the Technical University of Crete (TUC), where he also directs the Software Technology and Network Applications Laboratory (SoftNet). He received the Diploma degree in Computer Engineering and Informatics (School of Engineering Valedictorian) from the University of Patras, Greece in 1992, and the MSc and PhD degrees in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1994 and 1998, respectively. He worked as a Member of Technical Staff at Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies in Murray Hill, NJ (1998-2005), as a Senior Researcher at Intel Research Berkeley in Berkeley, CA (2005-2007), and as a Principal Research Scientist at Yahoo! Research in Santa Clara, CA (2007-2008). In parallel, he also held an Adjunct Associate Professor position at the EECS Department of the University of California, Berkeley (2006-2008). He served as the TUC ECE Department Chair for the period 9/2011-9/2013 and, between 11/2012-3/2015, he was a Member of the Board of Directors of Information Society, S.A., a Greek government organization for advancing large-scale, national-level efforts in Information and Communication Technologies.

Prof. Garofalakis currently serves as an Editorial Board Member for Foundations and Trends in Databases, and as an Associate Editor for Statistical Analysis and Data Mining (SAM) and Knowledge and Information Systems (KAIS). He was the Core Database Technology PC Chair for VLDB'2007, the Knowledge Management Track PC Chair for ACM CIKM'2014, and completed terms as Associate Editor for ACM Transactions on Database Systems (ACM TODS, 2008-2011) and IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering (IEEE TKDE, 2007-2011). He has also repeatedly served on the program committees of all major data-management conferences (including ACM SIGMOD, VLDB, ACM PODS, IEEE ICDE, and ACM SIGKDD), often in PC Group Leader/Area Vice-Chair roles.

Prof. Garofalakis' research interests are in the broad areas of Big Data analytics and large-scale machine learning, including database systems, centralized/distributed data streams, data synopses and approximate query processing, uncertain databases, and data mining and knowledge discovery. He has published over 150 scientific papers in top-tier international conferences and journals in these areas. He received the 2009 IEEE ICDE Best Paper Award for his paper "Histograms and Wavelets on Probabilistic Data" (with G. Cormode, AT&T-Labs), and 8 of his SIGMOD/PODS/VLDB papers have been invited to journal special issues (ranking in the top 3-5 papers of their respective conferences). He has delivered several invited keynote talks and conference tutorials on approximate query processing, data-stream processing, and distributed data streams, and has given invited tutorials on data streaming at the 2008 VLDB School in Cairo, Egypt, the 2015 INIT/AERFAI Summer School on Machine Learning, the 2015 and 2017 International Winter School on Big Data, and the 1st ACM Europe Summer School on Data Science and Big Data. His work has resulted in 36 US Patent filings (29 patents issued) for companies such as Lucent, Yahoo!, and AT&T. GoogleScholar gives over 13.000 citations to Prof. Garofalakis' work, and an h-index value of 62. He is/has been the recipient of an FP7 Marie-Curie International Reintegration Fellowship (2010-2014), and a PI for LIFT (FP7-ICT-FET Open project, 2010-2013), LEADS (FP7-ICT-STREP project, 2012-2015), FERARI (FP7-ICT-STREP project, 2014-2017), QualiMaster (FP7-ICT-STREP project, 2014-2017), and The Human Brain Project (FET Open Flagship project, 2013-2016). Prof. Garofalakis is an ACM Fellow (2018) "for contributions to data processing and analytics, particularly data streaming, approximation and uncertainty", an IEEE Fellow (2017) "for contributions to data streaming analytics", and a recipient of the TUC "Excellence in Research" Award (2015), the Bell Labs President's Gold Award (2004), and the Bell Labs Teamwork Award (2003).